Mississippi State Tax Extension

Need more time? Get an extension until October 15 in just 5 minutes. Start Now with E-File.com.
Mississippi State Tax Extension Flag

Filing an Extension in Mississippi

The Mississippi Department of Revenue applies the automatic six-month extension if a federal extension has been accepted, and a copy of the federal extension is attached to the return when filed.

An extension to file your return is not an extension of time to pay your taxes.


If You Owe

If you owe taxes, and do not have at least 80% of your annual tax liability prepaid through withholding, you must make estimated tax payments of your annual tax liability exceeds $200.

Pay Online

Pay your taxes online at The Mississippi Department of Revenue’s Taxpayer Access Point, TAP!.

You can also pay your taxes online at Official Payments Corporation. Visa, MasterCard, Discover Network, and American Express credit and debit cards, and other forms of payment, such as Bill Me Later® are accepted. To make a debit card payment you can use a MasterCard or Visa Debit Card or any debit card with Nyce, Pulse or Star logos.

There is a convenience fee for this service which is paid directly to the company. The amount of the fee is based on the amount of your payment.

Pay by Phone

Pay your taxes by phone by calling Official Payments toll-free at 1-800-272-9829. This automated service is available 24 hours, 7 days a week. At the end of your call you will be given a confirmation number. Save this as proof of payment for your records.

There is a convenience fee for this service which is paid directly to the company. The amount of the fee is based on the amount of your payment.

Pay by Mail

Along with the payment voucher, send a check or money order in the amount of the estimated tax due made payable to Department of Revenue. Check the appropriate box on the voucher for the payment type you are remitting. Write the identification number on your payment. Mail to:
Department of Revenue
PO Box 23075
Jackson, MS 39225-3075

Penalty and Interest Charges on Tax Owed

You will owe interest and penalty from April 15 to date of payment. The interest rate is 1% per month and the penalty rate is ½ of 1% (.5%) per month or part of a month from April 15 until the date the final payment is received. Late payment penalty will accrue to a maximum of 25%. Late payment penalty and interest apply to any unpaid tax after April 15.

The penalty for failure to file a return is imposed after Oct 15, 2021. The penalty is 5% per month not to exceed 25% in the aggregate. The penalty imposed for failure is based on the amount shown as tax on the return. Such failure to file a return penalty shall not be less than $100.

If You Do Not Owe

If you owe zero taxes or are expecting a refund from Mississippi, there is nothing to be filed at this time, an extension is automatically granted until October 15, 2021 for the filing of your 2019 tax return.

For more information, visit The State of Mississippi Department of Revenue